Conrad and Wife Christine Sulzer (Swiss emigrants) first settlers in Lakeview; 100 acres north of Chicago (25 years
aft Ft Dearborn massacre)
1800s Tolls gates at Lincoln and Belmont also at Lincoln
Lakeview area known for Celery Trade
Lakeview incorporated as a township (Fullerton/Western/Devon/Lake
Michigan) Incorporated were the villages of Ravenswood, Bowmanville, Summerdale, Andersonville, Rose Hill, Gross Park
and Belle Plaine. Lakeview took its name from the Lakeview Hotel that was located at Grace and the Lakefront.
1872 First public building: Town Hall at Halsted and
1874 Lakeview High School
very first National Tea store
Masonic Hall completed at Lincoln & Diversey
1889 City of Lakeview annexed
by City of Chicago
George Rasmussen’s Grocery Store at 1328 Belmont becomes the
1902 Lincoln-Belmont-Ashland promoted by local businessmen
Construction started at Lakeview Bank
Ludwig Jahn School built
William Wieboldt finances the building of the Lincoln Building at the
southeast corner of Lincoln and Belmont, the
former location of Math
Wrigley Field opens
1917 Wieboldt’s Store completed
Masonic Hospital takes over the Chicago Union Hospita
Established to care for: “Indigent Master Masons and their families”
October 7th, Lincoln-Belmont YMCA opens
William Wieboldt gave an initial contribution of $110,000
Elmer Wieboldt, 1st president of Kiwanis, was involved in
many community programs and especially instrumental in
spearheading the drive to fund the building of the YMCA
Goldblatt Brothers purchase building at 3167 Lincoln
from Struve Dry Goods
|courtesy of Ed Innis
|Schneider School 1932
Ed Innis (June 56) sent us this photo of his mother's graduation class.
She is seated 5th from left.
Julia C. Lathrop CHA Homes were completed.
Built on a 35-acre site once occupied by an industrial
plant. The Lathrop Projects are one of the first in the
13th Chicago Fire Department Batallion and Truck No. 21 moves into new station at 1501 W. School Street
house building financed by Goldblatts
prices: 17.9 cents/Ethyl and 16.2 cents/regular
Park fire (March)
Ad in the Booster: Sally Rand appearing at the Rip Tide in Cal City
Joe Gaffney is Hamlin Park Supervisor
Parade on Wheels-Hamlin Park
Charlie Weber’s 45th ward Riverview Party: Free Food, drinks and Rides
-Fire at Wiebolt’s (Cigarette in papers) Booster 18 Mar ‘53
arrested for wearing slacks! “Charged with appearing
in public wearing clothes of the opposite sex” Booster 4 Mar ‘53
Booze prices: Case of Drewrys or Meister Brau= $2.39
Shot and beer costs 25 cents
April-Atom Bomb to Rouse Lakeview (was a drill) Booster 22 Ap ‘53
War on Rats Booster 22 Ap ‘53Approximately
1000 people attend including past principals and teachers, alumni groups including the initial year-1908, and PTA members,
past and present. The guest speaker was Bejamin C. Willis, Superintendant of Public Schools.
1958 May 14th, Jahn School celebrates Golden
Anniversary (50 years)
|notice Barry standing on window sill
|actual depiction of recess at Jahn in the 1950's
a two hour demonstration of the new Motorola Stereo
System is conducted at
Casten’s TV and Appliance Store, 2118 Roscoe.
unknown: Lincoln Turners first located at Lincoln and Halsted, then 1005 Diversey.
Howard Theater was located at south
side of Lincoln & Belmont (at triangle) it featured stage productions. It was purchased by the Wieboldt Foundation and
beautifully rebuilt with a marble lobby. It featured Vaudeville acts and silent movies. It was named the Lincoln Hippodrome
but people called it the Lincoln Theater. When it closed in March of 1953 it then became the site of May Sons.
Street is named for a civil war battle
Wolcott is named for Alex Wolcott, an Army surgeon & Indian agent at Ft.
Greenview Mfg. Co. designed the first mold that was used for “Popsicles”